Dechrau 2011 / Starting 2011

3 01 2011

HAPPY NEW YEAR

BLWYDDYN NEWYDD DDA

I´ve less than a week left here and I can truly say that I´ve fallen in love with Argentina.

The people are so kind and will go out of their way to help you, and the food is to die for – from the delicious grilled meats at the parrilla to the empaniadas which are sold almost everywhere. The countryside is breathtaking, like the lakes around Bariloche which you can swim in on a hot day and still be surrounded by the snow capped Andes. There´s just something about this country, it´s so laid back compared to home and all the stress I felt before I left is back in a forgotten baggage department in an airport in Europe.

It´s great to start a new year somewhere different – we certainly celebrated the New Year Argentinean style, drinking Dr Lemon and Gancia and dancing with young men before dragging ourselves home at 7am and crawling into bed before the midday sun.

Tomorrow we take a 24 hour bus journey from Esquel to Buenos Aires (forget your UK/ Irish coaches; these are like flying 1st class with chairs that become beds and champagne before you go to sleep). Then on Sunday I catch my first flight. I´ll be honest and say I don´t want to head home, especially when the weather here is in the 30s and at home the thermometer is near freezing. I can feel the post-travelling blues already creeping in.

Perhaps I´ve reawaken the traveler within me – 2011 should be an interesting year.


Actions

Information

2 responses

3 01 2011
Sian Phillips

It sounds idyllic. If you don’t mind I am holidaying vicariously through you🙂 Safe travels and I hope you can get away again soon

5 01 2011
cailncymraeg

Diolch / Thanks Sian,
I don’t want to go back to the cold!

Leave a Reply

