Theatre outing take 2

29 09 2010

I’m a sucker for a freebie, so when I saw an offer for free tickets to a show at the Ulster Bank Dublin Theatre Festival I added my details and thought nothing of it until two tickets to Circa at the Gaiety Theatre came through my letterbox.

I didn’t read anything about the show before I got to the theatre, mainly because I didn’t have time, but also because a bunch of film critics once said at a Q&A session I went to that you should never read a review before you go watch something. So with an open mind I took my seat in the packed out crowd and waited for the show to begin.

I don’t want to spoil it but Circa has to be the best show I’ve seen this year. The combination of circus skills, dance and gymnastics is one of the most thrilling spectacles you’ll ever see. The simplest of movements become elaborate sequences you can’t help but watch while complex contortions are so fluid they look like anyone could do them.

The show is full of humor and plenty of moments to make you wince – a sequence involving a pair of sparkly red high heels sticks out in my mind. Expressions of ‘Oh my God!’ and gasps can be heard throughout the theatre – testimony of how far these performers go in the name of entertainment.

But, what a show! And if the standing ovation from the audience is anything to go by I wasn’t the only one to be blown away.

(from gaietytheatre.ie)
If you want a memorable show that’s worth every cent then Circa is for you.
Circa runs from the 30th of September until the 3rd of October. Tickets are available from ticketmaster.ie or contact the Gaiety Theatre on 01 677 1717

Actions

Information

2 responses

25 10 2010
potenzmittel shop

Super-Duper site! I am loving it!! Will come back again – taking you feeds also, Thanks.

4 12 2010
webdesigner

Guy, speak about a great post! I?ve stumbled throughout your weblog a few instances within the previous, but I usually forgot to bookmark it. But not once more! Thanks for posting the way in which you do, I truly recognize seeing a person who really includes a viewpoint and isn?t really just bringing again up crap like almost all other writers right now. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

