Lighter shade of boring.

29 04 2010

Grey: normally associated with things that are boring – grey skies, grey hair…John Major. However, this colour has become the height of fashion, especially in the world of nail polish with everyone from Victoria Beckham to Gwyneth Paltrow painting their nails in this dull tone.

Now, when I say grey I’m not talking about modern looking metallic silver – I’m talking the grey you get when you try to mix paints to together and it goes horribly wrong.

This week I’ve been experimenting with nail polish and have had navy blue, aquamarine and red nails since Sunday – and it hasn’t gone unnoticed. When I got to work, I found a bottle of Rimmel 60 Second nail polish called ‘Grey Matter‘ on my desk, courtesy of a colleague who had commented on my nails. Since then I’ve been looking at it from the corner of my eye with trepidation. It’s a more pastel tone of boring than the cold grey of winter skies and I was open to using it, but I felt like I had to pick the right moment.

That moment came during my lunch break the following day. I grabbed my bottle of cutex polish remover, got rid of the red and painted a layer of grey on my nails. I admit it – it’s not half bad and although I’m wearing a black and red ensemble it looks quite good. So far I’ve shown two co-workers and the office cleaner who have all given it the thumbs up. All’s left is for me to invest in a pair of Louboutins and you can call me Miss Fashionista…well, perhaps not quite yet; I really need to work at not gasping and running to the nearest sale rack in a high street store when I see the price of the shoes in the designer section.


Actions

Information

One response

29 04 2010
Caoimhe

I love grey nail polish and I’ve been wearing it non-stop for the past few weeks. Will check out the Rimmel one.

Leave a Reply

